Council of Advisors


To advise and guide the Foundation in the matters of operation of the scheme of Awards, a Council of Advisers has been constituted.

Dr. Shrimannarayan, well-known educationist and Gandhian economist was the first Chairman of the Council. Thereafter, Justice M. Hidayatullah, former Chief Justice and Vice-President of India, who was on the Council since the beginning, took over as its Chairman until his demise in 1992. Shri C. Subramaniam, former Union Minister and Governor of Maharashtra and President of the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan was the Chairman till his demise in 1999. Dr. L.M. Singhvi, former High Commissioner of India in U.K. and MP was Chairman of the Council until his death in 2007. Dr. P. C. Alexander, former Governor of Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu, High Commissioner of India in UK and a former Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha was Chairman of the Council till 10.2.2011.

Members of the Council are:

  • Dr. Justice C.S. Dharmadhikari (Chairman), (Conferred Status of Sitting Judge of the Bombay High Court)
  • Ms. Anu Aga (Director, Thermax Limited)
  • Ms. Radha Bhatt (Trustee, Kasturba Gandhi National Memorial Trust)
  • Dr. Pheroza Godrej (President, National Society of the Friends of the Trees)
  • Dr. Sudarshan Iyengar (Former Vice Chancellor, Gujarat Vidyapeeth and Professor, Gandhian Philosophy)
  • Dr. Anil Kakodkar (Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and Homi Bhabha Professor)
  • Dr. R.A. Mashelkar (National Research Professor, National Chemical Laboratory and President, Global Research Alliance)
  • Dr. S.N. Subba Rao (Director, National Youth Project)
  • Mr. Sanjit (Bunker) Roy (Founder & Director, The Social Work and Research Centre {Barefoot College})
  • Ms. Supriya Sule (Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha and Director, Yashaswini Abhiyan)
  • Dr. M. S. Swaminathan (Founder Chairman, M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation and Former Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission, Government of India)
  • Dr. Mariamma A. Varghese (Former Vice-Chancellor, S.N.D.T. Women’s University)
  • Ms. Minal Bajaj (Hon. Director, Jamnalal Bajaj Foundation)
  • Ms. Shubhangi Karkannavar (Secretary, Jamnalal Bajaj Foundation)

All the Trustees and the Hon. Director are ex-officio members of the Council.